Building for the Future

Dennis Gilfoyle
Chair - Fund Development Committee

One of the best rewards from our JA career was the relationships and friendships that were developed.  JASAN builds on that reward by connecting, informing, and engaging JA alumni after they retire or leave JA for other pursuits.

We are 100% dependent on the generosity of our members to provide the financial resources to manage JASAN’s operations.  This includes our website, newsletter, social media, and engagement activities, plus funding the annual Flemke, Sweeney, and Professional Staff Hall of Fame Awards, and providing scholarships to current JA staff associates to attend NLC, not to mention preserving our rich history.  JASAN operates on a very lean and efficient budget, but we need your help to continue the quality service you have come to expect from this group.

Please consider a gift to JASAN to keep things going!  Your financial support is very much appreciated.

Jacob Yuryev, a Junior at Carlmont High School in Belmont, California, is the 2023 Jim Sweeny Award winner for Entrepreneurial Excellence. Jacob is the CEO & President of Squeakey Klean a JA Northern California company.

Funds also support the Jim Sweeny Award for Entrepreneurial Excellence, which is awarded at the JA National Student Leadership Summit in June each year. This $2,000 scholarship is awarded to a JA Company Program student in recognition of his or her accomplishments, role in their JA Company, and entrepreneurial potential.

Anji Roe Wood, President, JA Southern Colorado
2023 Flemke Award Winner

The Karl Flemke Pioneer Achievement Award is given annually at the JA National Leadership Conference. This award goes to first-time Junior Achievement presidents who have demonstrated outstanding contributions to and achievements with the organization.

Read the list of Former Award Recipients

Don Floyd 2023 Professional Staff Hall of Fame Laureate

The Professional Staff Hall of Fame Award is given annually at the JA National Leadership Conference. This award goes to former JA staff professionals whose long-term dedication, commitment, and exceptional accomplishments made a significant impact on the organization and created a foundation for the current organization. Honorees are role models and set standards of accomplishment and behavior to which current and future JA staff should aspire.

L>R Matthew, Carolyn, and Don

Don’s Bio was produced by JA USA

JASAN’s Hall of Fame Celebration Dinner

In 2022-23, we continued our support for JA area staff to attend the Louisville, KY National Leadership Conference by awarding fifty $1,000 scholarships. See who earned a scholarship. JASAN will award 50 additional scholarships for the 2024 NLC in Kansas City, KS. Read the “Thank you” notes from many of the scholarship recipients.

In 2020-21, under the leadership of Marty Lee, Fund Development Chair, the JA Staff Alumni Network undertook an ambitious campaign to raise $50,000 to “Support Our Successors” (the SOS Campaign). Due to the generous responsiveness of 118 JASAN members and the Achievement Foundation, the campaign raised $175,00. In 2022, we awarded $1,000 Scholarships to seventy-five JA area staff to be applied toward their participation at the National Leadership Conference. Read a list of the recipients and what some shared regarding receiving this scholarship to attend NLC [Recipients Say “Thank you”]. The balance of these funds will be used to award fifty $1,000 scholarships in 2023 and 2024 respectively.